What should I be doing differently?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What should I be doing differently?

I've been driving and tracking rwd cars for about the past 10 years, my first drive in my GTR and I was a bit underwhelmed. Nothing but understeer .

I put the car in r r r. I had the dealer do their "track" spec alignment, other than that no other track prep. I was trailbraking to try to get the car to rotate, but ultimately felt like I was man handling the car mid turn to stay on line, the front would just push push push, bad...

Fwiw I was about 5 seconds off my Corvette's pace (2:02's at thill), its a stock c5z with r comps and brake kit. Was I wrong to think my GTR would be faster? Does this awd thing require a different technique?

Don

These cars naturally understeer like a pig, and they also weigh 3800 lbs.
    The deposed former Sheriff of trackHQ . . .

2006 Porsche 997 Carerra Coupe 6-MT - daily driver
    1992 Honda (Acura) NSX 5-MT - classic investment I couldn't resist and occasionally drive
    2004 Honda S2000 AP2 6-MT - my last track day car (FOR SALE or not, depending on how I feel when I fall out of bed tomorrow morning)
    2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX MR 6-MT - when I need a backseat, 4-doors, or a real trunk, and still want to haul ass . . .

Comment

Sounds like you are coming in too hot on corner entry. I think the real value of AWD is mid and exit of the corner. Slow in, fast out?

I'm sure someone with more AWD experience can chime in.

Comment

Well that sucks. Haha, they don't mention the understeer in all the media hype.

I thought of another question, how much help is the nitrogen in the tires supposed to really be? I feel like i was tricked, Haha. The dealer said they checked pressure and filled with the obligatory nitrogen, set to 29#, I checked pressure in the morning and saw 30, and after about 15 min was seeing 37psi.