+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree4Likes
  • 3 Post By SteveLevin
  • 1 Post By fatbillybob

Thread: 1998 Suburban 2500 with 454

Liked
    204 times

Default 1998 Suburban 2500 with 454

One of my friends is trying to sell his 1998 Suburban 2500 with a 454 and I told him that I would post it on here because this seems like a good tow vehicle. The car is in extremely good shape for it's age. It has almost 150,000 miles but many of the key components (transmission, transfer case, torque converter, water pump, air conditioning compressor, radiator, etc.) have been replaced by Chevrolet and he tells me that they have a lifetime GM warrantee. This is a one owner vehicle and all maintenance was performed by a local Chevy dealer.

I have no financial interest in this vehicle and I have limited knowledge of it, but I know the owner is a very good guy and has been a very passionate owner. Because these are good tow vehicles I thought people on TrackHQ may be interested. Asking price is 10,900 OBO. Please send all questions to Clayton at 714-580-8784.

Liked
    2305 times

That's about as nice as you'll find for its age. 2500 and 4x4 are a plus, too. GLWS.

Liked
    67 times

Seems like a gem! GLWS.

Liked
    141 times

any idea how thirsty?

Liked
    204 times

I’m not sure. I would think it would be in the 10 to 12 mpg range. I have a 2012 2500 Suburban (which has a different engine than this one) and I get around 10 to 12 in average driving and get around 8 when I tow my enclosed trailer....but you can give Clayton a call and he can give you the specifics.

Liked
    2305 times

It's no Nissan Quest, but it would make a fine tow vehicle.

Liked
    141 times

Quote Originally Posted by ucfbrett View Post
    It's no Nissan Quest, but it would make a fine tow vehicle.
    yeah the brakes might actual work too...

Liked
    204 times

Quote Originally Posted by granth View Post
    yeah the brakes might actual work too...