+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ucfbrett

Thread: Is Rolex24 a bit different that the regular endurance racing?

Liked
    6 times

Default Is Rolex24 a bit different that the regular endurance racing?

Hi guys,

I'm wondering about this past weekend's Rolex24. I watched last years broadcast in youtube and overheard the commentator said it is a 24 hour sprint race. In my understanding, I thought with sprint race, you have to hit the finish line first, e.g. Formula 1, etc.

On the other hand, I always thought that endurance racing is a bit different in that you just need to get the most number of laps in that 24 hour time. Unless I heard him wrong, can anyone clarify this for me?

Is other than the venue size and 1 hour shorter, is the Rolex24 any different than the 25 hours of thunderhill in terms of rules and the judging criteria to win?

Yes, I'm still a noob with endurance racing.

Liked
    456 times

I think what the announcer meant was, in the past teams would have to "save" their cars and not drive 10-10ths to make them last for 24 hours. Now the top cars/teams are so well developed (and so well funded) that they literally have to drive almost flat out the entire time to have a shot at winning.

Liked
    2322 times

announcers say that because:
    1. repeating what they heard from dramatic team owners
    2. trying to be dramatic themselves

they are NOT at sprint pace during 95%+ of the race. check the lap time. sometimes they are indeed faster or as fast as qualifying pace, but that's due to condition change (usually weather related). spring pace meaning banging over curbs and killing tires. nobody can do that for 24 hours (if even you could, you wouldn't want to - tires goes away after 1-2 TT laps, so it is better to dial back just a bit). watch F1 races, only 90 minutes, but they almost always dial it back after first few laps.