+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: Return of the Rotary

Liked
    704 times

Quote Originally Posted by Richard EVO View Post
    Does anybody know if there are any RX-8 to Mazda piston engine conversions out there?

Believe it or not, a few years back, Tom Dragoun wanted me to convert my 1994 Miata PTE/ITA car to a rotary. I don't think he was kidding, but I guess that's possible . . .
    My thoughts and again I'm not an expert but the RX-8 and NC share lots of parts. A 2.5 into an NC isn't very difficult so my hope is that it won't be terribly difficult for an RX-8. I'm not expecting plug-n-play by any means but hopefully not crazy difficult. Add a blower and it should be plenty of fun for the street.

Of course Tom wanted you to swap in a rotary. That's what he knows.
    99 Mazda Miata SuperMiata #515 - AKA Sparky SOLD
    '91 Mariner Blue Miata project AKA Napoleon

Liked
    2243 times

The winning formula is two doors, three rotors, four seats, a bit like a 911. If it's as fast as a three-rotor car can be, fuel consumption will not be a barrier. No one would care if it's world-class fast. Just think of the noise.

Liked
    1477 times

Quote Originally Posted by ucfbrett View Post
    Just think of the noise.
    brap, brap, brap, brap, brap, brap, brap, brap . . .
    The deposed former Sheriff of trackHQ . . .

2006 Porsche 997 Carerra Coupe 6-MT - daily driver
    1992 Honda (Acura) NSX 5-MT - classic investment I couldn't resist and occasionally drive
    2004 Honda S2000 AP2 6-MT - track day car
    2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IX MR 6-MT - when I need a backseat, 4-doors, or a real trunk, and still want to haul ass . . .

Liked
    2243 times

I meant at WOT.

http://www.trackhq.com/Banners/yellowsitesponsor.gif Blackbird's Avatar
    Liked
    1883 times

One of the sexiest engine sounds I've ever heard was at the 2004 JGTC race at Cal speedway.
    It was the RE Amemiya RX-7 that ran in the GT300 class.