+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Nurburgrin trip - planning stage

Liked
    2282 times

Default Nurburgrin trip - planning stage

been thinking about a trip to Nurburgring. my wife's sister lives in Zurich, so wife and kids can go visit. Me and couple of guys can go to Nurburgring for a few days. not any time soon, but next year or year after.

1. best time of the year ? being a SOCAL driver, I've only driven in rain on track a few times. it is a bad thing if I ever had an accident in a foreign country, either in a rental or a lease. does it snow there ? is Christmas time bad ? that happens to be the best time I can take time off.

2. what type of cars can I rent for reasonable price ? something that can be driven on track, and not too slow on Autobahn (see below). so stock 1.6L Miata is out.

3. I thought about leasing something like a BMW 328i. it is about ~$400/month, ~$3,500 down. I can use it for both track and a regular rental. do a European delivery. any issue in that ?

4. how many sharing a car is reasonable ? 2, 3 or 4 ? at track day, we do 4-5 sessions. so with 4 people. and jumping in as passenger, that would still be on track 50% of the time. pretty tiring.

5. Nurburgring charges per lap. how do they know how many laps you've done ? do you exit to pit, and come back again ?

6. what time of the day, what of the week is the best time to go ? when do tour bus come out to play on track ?

7. I want to do some high speed driving on Autobahn ( I truely believe in less than 10 years, high speed freeway driving will be a thing of the past, want to get it done NOW). somewhere between 120 - 150mph would be fun. when I was young, I drove quite a bit in Europe. once got pulled over in France for ~155MPH, paid a $300 fine. but I heard if you do that today, you go straight to jail. how true is that ? how lax is the speed enforcement ?