+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Maxxis Victra RC-1 vs. Nitto NT-01

Liked
    5 times

Default Maxxis Victra RC-1 vs. Nitto NT-01

I have been using the Nitto NT-01 tires for several years on my Porsche 944S2. Full race build, but a stock engine.

I race with POC in a weight/hp class. If I make more hp I need to add weight. If I switch to a less than 100 treadwear tire (Hoosier R7 or Toyo RR)
    I need to add weight or I would be pushed to the bottom of the next faster class. Not where I want to be.

For the class I am currently running, the car's on track weight is about 2900 pounds. WSIR 1:35's

The Maxxis RC-1 comes in the same size I am using, 255/40-17, square setup on 9 inch wide wheels.

Does anyone have experience with these two tires?

I know the NT-01 tires go many heat cycles and still give good grip and they have good grip in the opening laps of a race.

How does the Maxxis compare?
    944S2

Liked
    662 times

I've used both on a Miata. From memory they both wear and heat cycle very similarly - both don't lose much over the life of the tire as long as it's not too long from the first cycle to the last. Grip is also very similar but I think NT-01s work better when it's hot.
    99 Mazda Miata SuperMiata #515 - AKA Sparky SOLD
    '91 Mariner Blue Miata project AKA Napoleon

Kam
    Liked
    82 times

My experience --

When to use the RC1 - NASA Time Trials or other venues with Maxxis contingency. Maxxis has a really good contingency payout.
    When to use the NT01 - In every other scenario.
    5.6lbs / whp -- 4.9lbs / bhp

Liked
    2091 times

weather > 85F - NT01 is better
    weather < 85F - RC1 is better
    Supermiata S1, SuperMiata S2, Supermiata S3
    13 Tesla, ma: no engine !!
    16 Cruze, free car !!
    08 M3 - Carmax warranty !!
    96 NSX
    06 EVO MR

Liked
    5 times

I guess I'll just stick with the NT 0-1 tires for now. My fastest lap ever at WSIR was a mid-morning qualifying session on a cold day in about 40-45 degree weather.