• 2 Post By tq3z
  • 1 Post By Stuntman
  • 1 Post By fatbillybob

Thread: Looking for some general advice

Liked
    158 times

Default Looking for some general advice

All,
    So Im asking here since I am sure many of you have been down this road in your driving career. Ive been tracking my S2000 regularly for several years now and for the first few it was awesome I left it relatively stock, left the OEM suspension mostly alone. I enjoyed driving the car, and had no problems with it. It is not my daily but a toy / track car that I still enjoyed driving around occasionally.

Well in the interest of safety and going faster I installed a roll bar since I've had a few too many pucker situations and I wanted to know my head wont become a load bearing member. The roll bar then caused me to not be able to comfortably drive the car because im tall and it moved my seat too far forward. To solve this I installed a bucket and harness, again in the interest of safety. The car now creaks and rattles everywhere because of the roll bar which I half understand.

Similarly in the interest of going faster (and moving to a more competitive class in the S2K challenge) I swapped out the suspension for some high-ish dollar coilovers (ill leave the exact type out of this conversation). These have been used to great effect by many other S2000 drivers to go very fast. I hate them. I dont like the way the car behaves on them one bit.

I am beginning to feel like all the steps I am taking to make the car safer and more stable are making me like it less and less. I have reached the point where every time I get out of the car (arriving at the track, after a session, returning from the track, etc) I am simply irritated at it and have this feeling of quicksand where I keep pouring money into it and the problems just keep getting worse.