+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Like Tree39Likes

Thread: Releasing the steering wheel and letting it spin freely to unwind it?

Liked
    803 times

I tell my students to leave the nannies on if that is how they drive their car the majority of the time. I also remind them two wheels off =mandatory pit stop, 4 = end of session. That first student I mentioned above, new to manual transmissions, the stability control saved us from what I thought was going to be an off-throttle oversteer into the k-rail. Time literally slowed and I remember hearing the individual pulses of the ABS trying to stabilize the car.

What happened was the student wasn’t comfortable shifting, so he rode through a fast RH sweep out to an off-camber transition. When he felt the car shift from that, he lifted... near readline at the top of third coming onto the front straight at AMP. I was about ready to call it a day after that.

It alarms me to see absolute novices come to Road Atlanta in really powerful V8 American cars, easily reach 140-150 on back into 10a, with little upgrades for braking or safety.
    Yer pal,
    Force

Liked
    1705 times

Call me a bad driver but IMO letting go is just another trick in your bag of tricks. Part of it is understanding your car. The post about caster is very important. Caster can do good things. Caster is managed just like any other suspension setting. There have been many times in 20 years of being on track that my hands have not been fast enough. Caster is a crutch that can get you out of a jam. I say learn to use it just like every other tool. I preference for hands on the wheel and fast hands absolutely but if the hands were so fast maybe you wouldn't have lost it in the 1st place. Maybe another tool will help you gather it up. It works for me.

Liked
    86 times

FYI - new Infiniti Q50 is steer by wire. Yikes!
    bellwilliam likes this.

Liked
    2513 times

How are lane keeping assist workIng ?
    S1 Supermiata - 220whp