+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Like Tree41Likes

Thread: Looking to get HANS device 3 point compatible

Liked
    216 times

FYI - Here's one of Ghidinelli's webinars on the product, linked from the Simpson Hybrid page.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30mjEbQ7RbY

Summary: Simpson did crash testing in 3pt belt configuration and compared it with their baseline. They reported a 33% decrease in "neck injury criteria" and measured a 55-60% decrease in "neck tension". You're safer with this device vs baseline, according Simpson. Their testing did not appear to factor SRS(airbags), though I believe that doesn't change the results with the particular measurement used here with neck tension.

Simpson has the Hybrid for sale direct for $928 recently (web cache)

I have no experience in this particular product, though it seems like a great product that fills a dangerous void in the market. My only recommendation is actually to the fine people at Simpson. Consider a version at a price point that lowers barriers to entry for non-racers. Perhaps one that's _only_ 3pt compatible to get to an ultra low price in the $399 range (thereby with minimal risk of cannibalizing the premium product lines that offer this).

Liked
    2282 times

I am pretty sure $300 of $1,100 is for product liability insurance
    Olitho likes this.
    Supermiata S1, SuperMiata S2, Supermiata S3
    13 Tesla, ma: no engine !!
    17 GT350 !!
    08 M3 - Carmax warranty !!
    96 NSX
    06 EVO MR
    15 Mini Cooper S

Liked
    136 times

Quote Originally Posted by bellwilliam View Post

where is our safety police, fatbillybob.....
    I can simulate Carl for you. "Your going to die if you......" 
    Last edited by CharleyH; 08-15-2017 at 04:56 PM.
    Olitho and bellwilliam like this.

Liked
    237 times

Interesting thread.